Philip Glass's Violin Concerto No. 1

Phi Beta Kappa Hall
601 Jamestown Road
Williamsburg, VA 23185
United States 601 Jamestown Road Williamsburg 23185

JoAnn Falletta conducts the close of the series with contemporary composer Philip Glass’ theatrical Violin Concerto No. 1, featuring the Virginia Symphony Orchestra’s own Concertmaster Vahn Armstrong. Dvořák’s Czech Suite engagingly incorporates rustic bagpipe imitations, a melancholy polka, and a Czech “neighbours’ dance.” Also on the program is one of Puccini’s rare non-operatic works, Preludio Sinfonico.