Virginia Symphony Orchestra presents Mozart's Haffner Symphony

Crosswalk Community Church
7575 Richmond Road
Williamsburg, VA 23188
United States 7575 Richmond Road Williamsburg 23188


  • Orchestra Left/Right: $45
  • Orchestra Premium: $65
  • Orchestra Rear/Far Right: $25

The final Williamsburg Classics program opens with György Ligeti's Concert Romanesc, a modestly modern piece composed in four movements played without pause. Using elements from the Romanian folk tradition, Ligeti echoes childhood memories of Alpine horns heard in the Carpathian mountains.

William Walton's viola concerto, featuring Juilliard graduate and Chesapeake, VA native Andrew Gonzalez, is an emotionally gripping piece and is arguably the first great viola concerto of the 20th century. The performance concludes with Mozart's Symphony No. 35. Also called the Haffner Symphony, the work has a spirited first movement that is, Mozart said, to be played with fire, followed by an unhurried, graceful second movement, a bright, atmospheric third, and ending in a fervid finale that Mozart advised be played "as fast as possible."

Benjamin Rous, conductor

Andrew Gonzalez, viola


Mozart: Overture to Don Giovanni

Walton: Viola Concerto

Mozart: Symphony No. 35, Haffner